Paglu, Chaplin, Shotru & Baishe Srabon Sweep Star Guide Bengali Film Awards

Rudranil Ghosh at Star Guide Bangla Movie Awards
Rudranil Ghosh and others at Star Guide Bengali Film Awards, Kolkata

Kolkata, June 9, 2012 (Washington Bangla Radio / Penning Creations) On Friday the 2nd of June, 2012, Science City Auditorium was filled to a packed house as it played host to the Star Guide Bengali Film Awards 2012 – a star studded award function that saw notable contributors to Tollywood (the Bangla Movie industry) getting recognized and acknowledged for the tremendous amount of work they have done for the industry.

The evening commenced with a contemporary dance performance that spoke volumes about the beauty and magnificence of the land of Bengal. As the dancers went backstage after the performance, Anchor Rituparna took the responsibility of the microphone and spoke in length about the ‘ranga matir path’ that conjured images in the minds of the audience of the beauty and charm of rural Bengal.

Singer Tinu Bhattacharya indulged the audience in a renewed celebration of the recent victory of the Kolkata Knight Riders at the IPL Season 6 cricket championship by rendering his personalized version of the KKR anthem "korbo lorbo jitbo re". As the music faded away, it was time for the official lighting of the lamp. Bengali superstar Prosenjit Chatterjee was clearly the highlight of the evening as was evident from the applause that rang in the auditorium. He, along with Chinmoy Roy, Artist Wasim Kapoor and Tower group Chairman Ramendu Chattopadhyay together lit the lamp and officially inaugurated the award function.

Prosenjit expressed his excitement about being part of Dibakar Banerjee’s Hindi political thriller film ‘Shanghai’ where he has played a small but important role. He also added the fact that Star Guide jury was doing a wonderful job by recognizing the hard work and years of determination put in by veteran technicians in the Bangla Film Industry. Veteran technician Sachin and actress Siuli Majumder were felicitated at the event.

The presence of some of the finest Tollywood actors like Sabyasachi Chakroborty, Rituparna Sengupta, Riju Biswas, Locket Chatterjee, Riya Sen and Kanchana Maitra further added to the glamour quotient of the entire event.

As the evening progressed, Actor Rudranil Ghosh and Madhumita took on the compering role for the rest of the event proceedings. Singers Paroma Dasgupta and Paromita enthralled the audiences with the ‘Dan Dan’ number from Department and the Marathi favorite ‘Aika Dajiba’ originally sung by Vaishali Samant. It was then time for the first set of awards to be given away to the winners selected by the Star Guide jury.

In the technical category, the award for ‘Best Screenplay’ went to Shiboprasad and Nandita Roy for ‘Ichhe’ and the award for the ‘Best Art Director’ was collected by Indranil Ghosh for ‘Iti Mrinalini’. The ‘Best Costume Designer’ award went to Saborni Das for ‘Nouka Dubi’.

Singer Rupankar’s presence was an added highlight to the evening. The audience swayed their heads and tapped their feet to Rupankar’s rendition of the melodious ‘gobhire jao’ number from ‘Baishe Srabon’.

It was then time for the awards in the music category to be given away. While Srijato collected the ‘Best Lyricist’ award for the film ‘Chaplin’, the top honor for the ‘Best Music Director’ went without any surprise to Indradeep Dasgupta for the same film. Kaushiki Desikan collected the 93.5 Red Fm ‘Best Playback Singer (female)’ award for ‘Chaplin’ and in the male category, Anupam Roy received the honor for his soulful rendering in ‘Baishe Srabon’.

As the event turned towards its climax, the anticipation in the audience was finally put to rest with the announcement of the top honors in the film category. Gaurav Chakraborty collected the ‘Best Male Debut’ award for Rang Milanti, while his female counterpart winner was Nusrat Jahan for ‘Shotru’. Kanchan Mallik was conferred with the ‘Best Actor in a Comedy Role’ award for his humorous character portrayal in ‘Bye Bye Bangkok’.

‘Bye Bye Bangkok’ was adjudged the Best commercial film whereas it was ‘Ami Adu’ that received the same honor in the non-commercial film category. Srijit Mukherjee was presented with the ‘Best director’ award in the non commercial film category for ‘Baishe Srabon’ whereas it was Raj Chakraborty who got the top honor in the commercial film category for ‘Shotru’.

Finally the awards, for which everyone had been waiting for patiently, were announced. Rituparna Sengupta walked away with the Best Actress award for ‘Jiyo Kaka’ whereas in the non commercial film category, the award was shared by Riya Sen for ‘Nouka Dubi’ and Parno Mitra for ‘Ranjana Ami Ar Ashbona’. In the male category, it was stand out actor Dev who got the honor in the commercial film category for his super-hit film Paglu, while actor Rudranil Ghosh collected the award in the non-commercial film category for ‘Chaplin’.

With the final set of awards given away to deserving artists, the curtains came down on one of the most dazzling and enriched award functions conducted in recent times. The event is certainly a good sign for the Bangla Film industry and it is hoped that the day is not far when the industry would rise from the ashes to produce specimens of quality and state-of-the-art film-making.