ITFS 2013 – The award winners of the Stuttgart Festival of Animated Film

Hollywood in Stuttgart – The award winners of the Stuttgart Festival of Animated Film have been selected

Stuttgart – With the 20th edition the Stuttgart Festival of Animated Film has strengthened its status as a highly important cultural event. Concerning the number of visitors the record of 80.000 people in the previous year has been achieved once more. The 20th edition again surprised with numerous improvements. “Since the long existing events in the local cinemas and at the Schlossplatz in the city centre of Stuttgart have won the heart of the visitors, we expanded the space of our activities in 2013”, said Dittmar Lumpp, Managing Director of Organisation and Finance of the ITFS’ organizer, the Film- und Medien-Festival gGmbH. In the first days of the festival more people visited the Open Air than ever before. Many of the film screenings in the cinemas were sold out. “The crowded cinemas show that the mixture of artistic short films, art house animated films and mainstream animated films has been well received”, as the Managing Director of the Programme, Ulrich Wegenast, declared gladly.

For the first time the children’s film festival Tricks for Kids took place in the Mercedes-Benz Museum. “The location was well received despite its exterior position”, said Dittmar Lumpp. The new venue, the zoo Wilhelma in Stuttgart, also proved successful. The newly developed Gamezone could give the main points. Wegenast: “I am especially glad that the game scene was well represented at the ITFS and has combined with the world of animation. The composition of the jury members worked out successfully – with a mixture of well-known animators such as David Silverman or sophisticated producers and directors such as Reinhard Klooss, and also young colleagues from all over the world, such as Atsushi Wada from Japan and Solomon Maramba from Zimbabwe.

The Animated Com Award in the Mercedes-Benz Museum has further developed in 2013. “With both the event and the films we achieved a new level”, Lumpp explained. Professionals of the industry intensely exchanged experiences in the field of animation at the business platform FMX 2013 and the Animation Production Day (APD).

„AND THE WINNER IS …“ On Sunday evening, April 28, 2013, at 8 pm in the Stuttgart cinema Gloria the 20th Stuttgart Festival of Animated Film presented the winners of the competitions. Celebrities from politics, commerce and culture, such as the CEO of the MFG Film Funding in Baden-Wuerttemberg, Gabriele Röthemeyer, the founder of the Stuttgart Festival of Animated Film, Prof. Albrecht Ade, the state secretary Jürgen Walter, the Stuttgart mayoress of culture, education and sports, Dr. Susanne Eisenmann, the Simpsons animator and director David Silverman and also the German actor, comedian and voice actor Rick Kavanian were present as the awards (Trickstars), worth over 65.000 Euro, were handed out.

The jury has judged approx. 1000 high-quality animated films in the competition categories, among them numerous German premieres for feature films such as the César-winning French film “Ernest & Célestine” by Benjamin Renner, Stephane Aubier and Vincent Patar and Michel Ocelot’s “Kirikou et les homes et les femmes”. Timothy Reckart’s Oscar-awarded British stop motion film “Head over heels” and productions of the Film Academy located in the Stuttgart region, such as “Kellerkind” by Julia Ocker and “Oh Sheep!” by Gottfried Mentor, were also included in the competition categories. Ladislav Starewitch’s production “Fétiche 33-12” celebrated its world premiere in the 35 mm edition at the ITFS.

Awardees of the 20th Stuttgart Festival of Animated Film

International Competition Grand Prix
15.000 Euro, sponsored by the State of Baden-Wuerttemberg and the City of Stuttgart
Belgium, France, The Netherlands 2011
Directors: Emma de Swaef, Marc James Roels

Lotte Reiniger Promotion Award for Animated Film
10.000 Euro, sponsored by MFG Film Funding Baden-Wuerttemberg
Japan 2012
Director: Ryo Okawara

SWR Audience Award
6.000 Euro
The Netherlands 2012
Director: Hisko Hulsing

Young Animation Award for the best student film
2.500 Euro, sponsored by Landesanstalt für Kommunikation Baden-Wuerttemberg (LfK) and MFG Film Funding Baden-Wuerttemberg
“EINE MURUL” (Breakfast on the Grass)
Estonia 2011
Directors: Erik Alunurm, Mari Pakkas, Mari Liis Rebane, Mihkel Reha

AniMovie Award for the best animated feature film
2.500 Euro, sponsored by RTL DISNEY Fernsehen GmbH & Co. KG, SUPER RTL
France, Belgium, Luxembourg 2012
Directors: Benjamin Renner, Stéphane Aubier, Vincent Patar

Tricks for Kids Award for the best children’s animated film
4.000 Euro, supported by Studio 100 Media GmbH
“SCHRECKEN OHNE ENDE” (Nearest and Dearest)
Germany 2012
Directors: Michael Sieber, Max Stöhr

Tricks for Kids Award for the best animated series for children
Ireland 2012
Director: Alan Shannon

Cartoons for Teens Award for the best animated series, animes and cut scenes from computer games for youths
2.500 Euro, sponsored by Nippon Art GmbH and AV Visionen GmbH
“DER NOTFALL” (Déjà-moo)
Germany 2012
Directors: Stefan Müller

German Screenplay Award
2.500 Euro, sponsored by Telepool GmbH
by John Chambers

Animated Fashion Award
2.000 Euro, sponsored by E. Breuninger GmbH
Switzerland 2012
Claudia Röthlin, Yves Gutjahr

German Voice Actor Award
2.500 Euro
RICK KAVANIAN, “Knight Rusty – Yesterday’s Hero Recycled“ (Knight Rusty)
Universum Film GmbH, Germany 2012

Animated Com Award - Awards for the best applied animation in the fields of advertising, technology and spatial communication
sponsored by Mackevision Medien Design GmbH, Animation Media Cluster Region Stuttgart, Daimler AG, U.I. Lapp GmbH
Main prize
USA 2012
Director: Lucas Zanotto
Category Advertising
2.500 Euro, sponsored by Mackevision Medien Design GmbH
Germany 2012
Director: Mate Steinforth,
Commissioner: VIMN MTV World Design Studios
Category Technology
2.500 Euro, sponsored by Animation Media Cluster Region Stuttgart
Hungary 2012
Director: Istvan Zorkoczy,
Commissioner: Electronic Arts/Bioware
Category Spatial Communication
Switzerland 2012
Director: Marc Tamschick,
Commissioner: Präsenz Schweiz
Special Prize Mercedes-Benz Classic: Silver Arrows
2.500 Euro, sponsored by Daimler AG
Germany 2013
Director: Falk Schuster
Special Prize Lapp Connected Award
2.500 Euro, sponsored by U.I. Lapp GmbH
Croatia 2012
Director: Darko Vidackovic

48h Animation Jam – Crazy Horse Session
Antonio Jesús Busto Algarin, Martin Martínez Garcia (Spain)
In co-operation with M.A.R.K. 13, Landesanstalt für Kommunikation (LFK) and MFG Film Funding Baden-Wuerttemberg

Project Competition Animation Co-Production Forum Arab World (the countries of the Arab League) and the Caucasus region 2013
in cooperation with the Robert Bosch Stiftung
nominated for the Film Prize of the Robert Bosch Stiftung for International Cooperation
Sarah Kaskas and Michael Schwertel

Natia Nikolashvili