Astitva- Patang Dor

Kolkata, March 5, 2014, (Washington Bangla Radio): Saregama India Ltd., India’s flagship music and entertainment Company,  proudly launches  Astitva-Patang Dor.    The album was launched at  Striker Pub, New Delhi by renowned Punjabi singer Ashok Mastie,  followed by an enthralling Live Performance by the Band,which kept the audiences wanting for more.

This album promises a wide range of genres from Alternative Rock and Folk Jazz to Blues, Fusion and Hip-Rock. With tracks such as Tu Hi Bata, Bawri, Raat Ki Daastaan, Patang Dor, Na Jao and Paas Ao, the band lives up to it’s tag of a multi-genre band. But the twist in the story is rendered in the form of the Smoker’s Mix version of Tu Hi Bata, and Electronic track produced by Karan Mehta.

It took them close to 6 years to ensure they had a name and an audience to hum their tunes. But the journey for this Delhi based band, Astitva, has been rewarding in all aspects. The band is finally all set to launch their debut album, Patang Dor, produced by Saregama India Ltd., with seven captivating tracks.

Praised by the likes of Sheila Dixit, Parineeti Chopra and many more, the band has previously played all over the country in commercial events as well as college festivals such as Youth Nexus, The Qutub Festival and Gwalior Carnival. Astitva also has to its name the composition of the Delhi Anthem ‘This is Where I belong’ and Save The Girl Child Anthem ‘Jeeney Do’. The members of the band although from different backgrounds, have worked together to achieve similar goals.


“We got together six years ago, unaware of what we wanted. But through and through, our aim became more and more clear. Our track, Tu Hi Bata, is an effort to bring about social awareness. The struggle within to look for one’s identity, the injustice meted out to rape victims and acid-attack-victims are a few issues we have tried to emote in this track, hoping it makes a dent.”, explained the band’s lead guitarist Zaman Khan.


A five member band, Astitva brings to you the talents of Ayush Gupta(drummer), Amit James(bassist), Kamal Kharera( keyboardist), Salman Khan (vocalist) and Zaman Khan(guitarist), hoping to crack some bollywood dreams eventually.