Inaugural First Time Fest 2013 Closing Night Awards Video Coverage

By Maria Esteves – March 23, 2013
The Inaugural First Time Fest (FTF) 2013 Closing Night Awards honoring first-time filmmakers hosted by Award winning actress (Oscar, Emmy, Tony) Ellen Burstyn and presented by Anthony Rapp commenced Monday, March 4, 2013, 8:00 PM, at the historic Players Club, New York. Founded by Johanna Bennett and Mandy Ward, the festival presents directorial debuts from around the world with theatrical distribution, as it’s key element.

This year’s FTF inauguration sponsored by Morgan Stanley included 25 films (New York premieres, World premieres, North American premieres), Q&A sessions, panel discussions, special events, awards ceremony, opening, and closing night parties. Attendees and participants included Amy Ryan, Barbara Kopple, Christine Vachon, Hal Hartley, Harry Belafonte, Jack Huston, Martin Scorsese, Melvin Van Peebles, Nancy Savoca, Sofia Coppola, Sophie O'Connor, Tony Bennett, Todd Solondz, William Luhr, and many others.

La Tete La Premiere (Headfirst) received two awards including Achievement in Directing AMÉLIE VAN ELMBT presented by American actor Anthony Rapp. Oscar winning actress Ellen Burstyn presented the Grand Prize Award for theatrical distribution (Cinema Libre Studio) to director Diego Rougier for SAL. Director DARREN ARONOFSKY is recipient of the first John Huston Award presented by master American filmmaker Martin Scorsese. FTF Closing Night Awards after party immediately followed.