Bollywood Glitterati Open India's Celebrity Cricket League (CCL): Jeet and Jishu to Lead Bengal Warriors

Salman Khan
Salman Khan

Mumbai, Jan 26, 2013 (Washington Bangla Radio) Curtains were lifted on the third season of the Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) to a glamorous ceremony with eight film industries across India and a constellation of Indian movie stars at the Reliance Studios Goregaon Film City in Mumbai. Celebrity Cricket League 2013 will see two more teams adding up with the six teams from the previous year. The two new teams are ‘Veer Marathi’ and ‘Bhojpuri Dabbangs’. The two teams will be captained by Ritiesh Deshmukh and Manoj Tiwari respectively.

Riteish Deshmukh, Salman Khan and Suniel Shetty
Riteish Deshmukh, Salman Khan and Suniel Shetty

This year Bengal Warriors will be playing their second season. The first season was a disaster as they managed to win only one match among the five matches they played. Under the captaincy of Jeet, they will surely try to do better in the third edition of the tournament. Their biggest bet is their vice-captain Jishu Sengupta who played upto state level before dedicating himself to acting career.

While Bipasha Basu set the ceremony on fire with her shimmering act on the stage, it was Andrew Symonds who stole the show with his own Bollywood moves that left everyone awestruck. Ritesh Deshmukh and Ayushman Khurrana kept the audience in splits with their one-liners and dig-acts on one and all as CCL opened to its biggest version ever with teams from Hindi, Telegu, Tamil, Malayalam, Kannada, Marathi, Bengali and Bhojpuri film industries making it the biggest cricket-entertainment event ever.

Salman Khan who seemed super enthusiastic about the upcoming season said, "CCL is family to me and I am proud that the property has grown beyond our expectations".

Sanath Jaysuria’s facing of a Bollywood done by the hot Chitrangada Singh was a delight to watch. Just like his batting style, Sanath made quick scores and passed the test with distinction.

Bengal Tigers Cricket Team with Sridevi, Boney Kapoor and Rajesh Shah
Bengal Tigers Cricket Team with Sridevi, Boney Kapoor and Rajesh Shah

Venkatesh, Mohanlal, Vishal,Suniel Shetty, Ritesh Deshmukh, Manoj Tiwari, Jeet and Sudeep, the captains of the eight participating teams came together on stage and regional movies of India could not have been more represented.

Ayushman and Riteish with Bengal Tigers Celebrity Cricket League CCL Team, Sridevi and Boney Kapoor
Ayushman and Riteish with Bengal Tigers Team owners Sridevi and Boney Kapoor

The founder and M.D of CCL Mr.Vishnu Induri said, “CCL3 is going to be more entertaining with more focus on the right mix of glamour and serious cricket." The third season has added two new teams and the season that begins on February 9th, with the first match being held in Kochi. Some heavyweights from the Indian Movie Industry like Sohail Khan, Kangana Ranaut, Boney Kapoor and Sridevi, Shruti Hasan, Genelia D'Souza, Rana and Ram Charan Tej were also seen to grace the occasion.

Celebrity Cricket League started from the year 2011 with only four teams, ie. Mumbai Heroes, Chennai Rhinos,Telegu Warriors and Hyderabad Bulldozers. In 2012 ‘Bengal Tigers’ and ‘Kerala Strikers’ joined the tournament.

Chennai Rhinos proved themselves to be the most dominating team by taking away the trophy of both editions played so far.

Watch a video on Tamil actress Shruti Haasan on being chosen as the brand ambassador for the Chennai Rhinos team.

- By Jyoti Prakash Mandal (