4th PELOPONNESIAN INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL "BRIDGES" * * Naseer wins Best Actor, The Coffin Maker lifts the Golden Pegasus

Washington D.C. December 20, 2013, (Washington Bangla Radio): The awards for the 4th Peloponnesian International Film Festival “Bridges” were presented at the crowded Cineplex Lais of Corinth in Greece. The ceremony was conducted by Corinthian actress Helen Petropoulou along with festival director Petra Terzi. The audiovisual presentation ceremony was prepared by Socrates Lambropoulos. The choreographer of the closing ceremony is Glykofrydi and the dancers were Aggistrioti Maria, Andrea Kapasakalidi and Helen Stamatopoulou.

Amidst much applause and in the presence of the Honorable Ambassador of India in Greece Tsewang Topden and the First Secretary of the Embassy of India in Greece Somnath Halder it was India’s THE COFFIN MAKER that stole the glory at this year’s festival winning 5 awards decided by the eminent jury consisting of Bollywood Producer Vivek Singhania, Greek actor and director George Pirpasopoulos, the  director of the Corinthian theater George Tzavaras, the German director Oliver Kyr and the Greek Director of Photography Olympia Mytilineou.

Noted Indian actor Naseeruddin Shah won the Best Leading  Actor award for his performance in The Coffin Maker which also won Best Production Design for Bharat Vijan, Best Original Score for Bapi – Tutul, Best Director for Veena Bakshi and THE GOLDEN PEGASUS for BEST FILM.

Praveen Morchhale’s BAREFOOT TO GOA was the other Indian film in competition and also won for Praveen a SPECIAL MENTION FROM THE JURY for his sensitive direction of the little child artistes

Clearly it was India’s night at Corinth. Through the realization of this year's Peloponnesian International Film Festival "Bridges" from 7 to 15 December, in cinema LAIS  in Corinth , the Seventh Art emerged as an intellectual cultural and inspirational event, with the projection of 70 films from 20 countries in total and along with various cultural events attractive even for the most discerning viewer.

The festival director Petra Terzi warmly congratulated, all actors and directors who participated and competed with their films at the festival, renewing the appointment with all cinephile public in December 2014 !

The hospitality hotel is  "Ephira" , the parties of the festival were hosted at cafes “Lemon”, “Fin”, “The House of Aloustini” and “Livingroom”, and the wine was provided by the winery Orfanos. The Official photographer and poster designer of the festival is Lorena Kir-Giannoulis.

Specifically, the awards given were the following:

*Short Films:

 Best Short Film : “Picture Perfect”- Irina Izmestieva (United Kingdom)

  1.   Best Direction in a short film : “The Case of Mary Ford”- Ben Mole (United Kingdom)
  2.   Best Cinematography in a short film : “KIN” - Director of Photography Ben McKinnon (Canada)
  3.   Best animation : “8-minute Deadline” - Zina Papadopoulos & Petros Papadopoulos  (Greece)
  4.   Best Greek Short Film : "A hardworking robber" – Michael Felanis ( Greece )
  5.   Best Music or Dance Film : “Elizabeth”  - Tori Lawrence - (USA)

B) Documentaries:

1. Best documentary :

  • "Stories of Livadero Kozanis" – Alexandros Karaiskos ( Greece )
  •   World Cinema “Bridges”
  • “I loved you so much” - Οrhan Tekeoglu (Turkey)

*Feature Films “Golden Pegasus”*

Best Production Design:*: Shared by: Nedeljko Bajić, Predrag Jočić, Jelena Mila - "Ice" ( Serbia)  /Bharat Vijan - “The Coffin Maker” (India)

  1. Best Sets / Costumes : *Mei Karamanidi and Louiza Karamouzi - "The Dragonphoenix Chronicles: Indomitable" ( Greece )
  2. Best Original Score* : BAPI - TUTUL – "The Coffin Maker" (India )
  3. Best Editing Award *: Lara Tosello – "You cannot write a letter" ( France )
  4. Best Screenplay *: Guillaume Levil - "You cannot write a letter " ( France )
  5. Best Leading Actor :Naseeruddin Shah - "The Coffin Maker" (India )
  6. Best Leading Actress : Danijela Mihajlović  - "Ice" ( Serbia )
  7. Best Cinematography : Pedrag Jočić - "Ice" ( Serbia )
  8. Best Director : Veena Bakshi - “The Coffin Maker” (India)
  9. Best Debut Director: Shared by: Stephanie Pedros - “Reality Check” (Germany) and Manolis Damianakis -"Kame Koummando" ( Greece ); Special Mention *to Praveen Morchhale for his sensitive direction to get outstanding performances from the child actors in his debut film “Barefoot To Goa”
  10. Audience Award in a feature film : *Alexander Leontarites - “The Final
  11. Payoff” (Greece)
  12. Golden Pegasus : *Veena Bakshi - “The Coffin Maker” (India)