The 5th Asian Film Awards Nomination List Announcement

Mr. Roger GARCIA, Executive Director of HKIFFS announced the nomination list for the 5th Asian Film Awards.

Hong Kong, 20 January 2011 (Washington Bangla Radio) The Hong Kong International Film Festival Society (HKIFFS) announced today the nominees in the 14 categories of the 5th Asian Film Awards (AFA) Presentation Ceremony, which will take place at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre on 21 March, 2011.  The 5th AFA is one of the Opening Gala events of Entertainment Expo Hong Kong and will coincide with two other flagship events of the HKIFFS: the 35th Hong Kong International Film Festival (HKIFF), and the 9th Hong Kong – Asia Film Financing Forum (HAF).

The HKIFFS Chairman, Mr. Wilfred WONG SBS JP also announced the theme of this year’s AFA – “Let’s Meet Here”.  According to Mr. WONG, “’Let’s Meet Here’ signifies how the magic of cinema and filmmaking unites different nationalities, peoples and cultures universally.  And we will unite on 21 March 2011 to celebrate the achievements of the past year in Asian film. So let’s meet here – at the Asian Film Awards.”

Organised by the HKIFFS with support from the Film Development Fund and the Hong Kong Trade Development Council, the AFA celebrates excellence in Asian cinema produced in 2010.

Outstanding films and filmmakers across Asia will compete in 14 categories: Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Newcomer, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Screenwriter, Best Cinematography, Best Production Designer, Best Composer, Best Editor, Best Visual Effects, Best Costume Designer.

Mr. YONFAN – The 5th Asian Film Awards Jury President

The AFA also announced that renowned writer, director, producer and art connoisseur, Mr. YONFAN has graciously accepted the role of Jury President this year.  Mr. YONFAN was present to assist with the announcement of the nomination list.  “It is a great honour to be a part of this event that is dedicated to the promotion and development of the Asian film industry, and to celebrate the work of those working in Asian cinema.  I hope that we can take the annual event of Asian Film Awards as an opportunity to meet together and to celebrate the Asian Film Industry.  I also hope the Asian Film Awards can encourage film industry players to keep on pursuing and achieving their dreams in film as they continue to raise the bar for Asian cinema,” said Mr. YONFAN.

The HKIFFS Chairman Mr. Wilfred WONG SBS JP, Vice Chairman Ms. Sylvia CHANG and Executive Director Mr. Roger GARCIA joined Mr. YONFAN to announce the nomination list with AFA Steering Committee Member Ms. Nansun SHI.

In addition to the 14 awards, this year’s AFA will present 4 special awards to recognise the outstanding efforts and careers of individual film professionals and companies in the Asian film industry.  The Awards are Lifetime Achievement Award, Award for Outstanding Contribution to Asian Cinema, Award for Promotion of Asian Cinema and Award for 2010 Top-Grossing Film.

About Asian Film Awards (AFA)

Inaugurated in 2007, the Asian Film Awards (AFA) is an international pioneering programme, honouring filmmakers with outstanding achievements in the field of Asian cinema.  Eminent filmmakers and superstars from around the world are invited to bestow awards upon winners of each category, making the ceremony an elaborate extravaganza.  A panel of jury, comprised of international professionals and prominent members in the community of world cinema, will select among eligible films produced in the region in that year and decide the award winners.  Over the years, prominent guests, stars and filmmakers who attended the AFA include: Oliver STONE, William HURT, Donatella VERSACE, Barrie OSBORNE, Luc BESSON, Arthur COHN, ZHANG Yimou, BONG Joon-ho, John WOO, TSUI Hark, Peter CHAN, FENG Xiaogang, LU Chuan, JIA Zhangke, Johnnie TO, HOU Hsiao-Hsien, Brilliante MENDOZA, Jet LI, Rain, Andy LAU, Joan CHEN, Tony LEUNG chiu-wai, Michelle YEOH, Brigitte LIN, MOTOKI Masahiro, WANG Xueqi and many more.  The crowning awards presentation ceremony promises an evening of glitz and glamour that befits the honouring of the highest achievements in Asian cinema.

About Hong Kong International Film Festival Society (HKIFFS)

The Hong Kong International Film Festival Society (HKIFFS) is a charitable, non-profit and non-governmental organization dedicated to the discovery and promotion of creativity in the art and culture of film.

Through its year-round programmes, the mission of the Society is to strengthen global appreciation of Chinese film culture and to promote inspiring films from around the world, enriching the cultural life of Hong Kong.

Committed to the development of a vibrant film culture in Hong Kong and Asia, the Society presents three annual flagship events in March and April: The Hong Kong International Film Festival (HKIFF), the Hong Kong-Asia Film Financing Forum (HAF) and the Asian Film Awards (AFA).

Passionately believing in the power of films to unite cultures and generations, the HKIFFS is devoted to giving thousands of film lovers around the region direct access to the world’s most inspiring films all year round.

The complete nomination list for the 5th AFA is attached at Appendix I.
The complete jury list for the 5th AFA is attached at Appendix II.
The list of key sponsors for the 5th AFA is attached at Appendix III.

Photo Download Link:

The 5th Asian Film Awards Nomination List Announcement, Renowned Director YONFAN appointed Jury President | AsianFilmAwards.Asia