Participating Kolkata Durga Puja Committes for Sarood Samman 2010 Calcutta Puja Awards Contest - list for Best Durga Puja

Kolkata Durga Puja Awards Contest Online Competition Coverage

CALCUTTA, October 11, 2010 (Washington Bangla Radio) The final list of Calcutta Durga Puja committees participating in the IIDR Sharod Samman Awards contest has been announced.

You can follow Washington Bangla Radio's exclusive coverage of the best of Kolkata Durga Pujas participating in the contest in our dedicated 2010 IIDR Puja section here.

Around 19 Pujas are selected as finalists for the Best Four Puja competition this year from a shortlist of over 30 participants.

The IIDR had received over 70 applications. Around 50 applications were initially selected, but unfortunately, a lot of them did not make it to the final list of contestants because of incomplete information in the forms, e.g. signature missing, route direction not given, wrong phone number etc.

The IIDR Sarrod Samman awards is a competition for the top 4 best Durga Pujas in the Kolkata - 24 Parganas - Burdwan area in West Bengal. The winners are selected  by a qualified panel of judges. You can find information about this year's judges in our post here.

This year IIDR is trying to create awareness among Puja Committees regarding Safety and Security aspects of Pandal hoppers (proper fire fighting arrangement, First Aid Arrangements, Drinking water facilities, special arrangements for physically challenged, proper passage etc.), more investment of time and resources for social service and environment protection.

While visiting the contestant pujas judges will ask and interact with organizers about these issues.
Winning Puja committees will be selected based on these issues. There will be mass media coverage.
IIDR allows small business organizations to advertise their brands in Publicity materials of Sarood Samman, as a part to promote small business houses. Washington Bangla Radio is the online and radio partner of the IIDR Awards.

The finalists for the Best Four Durga Pujas contest for this year are:

Name Of Puja Committee


Chetla Agrani Club


Suruchi Sangha


Badamtala Ashar Sangha


Bhawnipur Sadhin Sangha


Golden Arrow Club

Tara Road

Tridhara Sammilani

Manahar Pukur

Ramkrishna Sebak Samity

Dover Terrace

Hindusthan Park Sarbojanin Durgotsav Committee

Hindustan Park

Saradia Sammilani

Ekdalia Road

Palli Mangal Samity

Prince Anwarshah

Golf Green Sarobotsava Committee (Phase II VI V& Golf Plaza)

Golf Green

Netaji Nagar Durgotsav committee

Netaji Nagar Narkel Bagan

Netaji Jatiya Sebadal


Baghajatin ‘A’ Block Durgotsav(Organised By Udayan Sangha


Raipur Club

Raipur Garia

Naktalla Udayan Sangha


Chittaranjan Colony O Sanglagna Odhibasi Brindo

Jadavpur Chittaranjan Colony

Golf Green sarbojanin Durgotsav Committee (PhaseIII VII&IV)

Golf Green

Gava Sammelany

Harish Mukherjee Road

In additon to the finalists above, here is the list of other participants:

Name Of Puja Committee


27 Pally Sarbojanin Durgotsav Committee

Pratapaditya Road

Chakraberia Sarbojanin Durgotsav


Sodepur Agragami Club

Matilal Gupta Road

Pragati Sangha Sarbojanin Durgotsav Committee

Behala Manton

Bandhab Sammilani


Adi Babubagan Sarbojanin Sarodsav


Dakshin Purba Dhakuria Sarbojanin Durga Puja committee


Satattar Pally Sarbojanin Durgotsab Committee


Selimpur Club


Sree Sree Saradiya Durgotsav


Station Pally Sarbojanin Durgapuja

Dhakuria Station

Samilita Durgotsav


Satellite Township Club